SCOTY Award winners 2018

Congratulations to this year’s School Citizen of the Year (SCOTY) Award winners!

On April 11, 2018, West 40 presented the 22nd Annual SCOTY Awards at West Leyden High School. This year, District 89 had 13 recipients of this award! The SCOTY Award recognizes students that have been chosen by their schools as ‘good school citizens and models for others to emulate.” Grades and activities are important considerations, but only a small part of the selection process. Each school is asked to develop its own criteria as a further guideline for selection. The school principal and teachers use those criteria to nominate one student per year to receive the SCOTY Award.

Emerson School
Natalia Rodriguez

Garfield School
Diego Hermosillo

Irving Middle School
Zamora Beard
David Angon

Jane Addams School
Osmar Martinez

Lincoln School
Michelle Orbe
Jackie Martinez

Melrose Park School
Ariana Ortiz
Diego Villalobos

Roosevelt School
Andre Rogers

Stevenson Middle School
Stephanie Orbe
Fernando Sandoval-Bohorq

Washington Dual Language Academy
Devin Mims